Dapo Abiodun, Governor of Ogun State, has been re-elected for a second four-year term.
Abiodun is the All Progressives Congress’s governorship contender.

On Sunday, the Independent National Electoral Commission proclaimed Abiodun the winner of the governorship race.

Abiodun received 276,298 votes, defeating Peoples Democratic Party candidate Ladi Adebutu, who received 262,383 votes.

The APC won 12 local government areas in the state, while the PDP won eight, according to the electoral umpire at the state collation office in Abeokuta.

Odeda, Egbado-North, Egbado-South, Ewekoro, Ijebu-North, Ijebu-Ode, Ipokia, and Abeokuta-North were all won by the APC. The local government areas of Ado-Odo/Ota, Ifo, Obafemi-Owode, and Imeko-Afon of the state.

Abeokuta-South, Ogun Waterside, Ijebu-North/East, Ikenne, Ijebu-East, Remo-North, Odogbolu, and Sagamu were all won by the PDP.

However, before Abiodun was declared the winner of the race, PDP collation agent Sunkanmi Oyejide warned the electoral umpire against calling Abiodun the winner.

Oyejide suggested that INEC consider a provision in the modified Electoral Act that requires the commission to declare a rerun if the total number of rejected ballots exceeds the lead margin.

This was raised shortly after Prof. Oluwagboyega Afolabi, the Sagamu collation officer, revealed the scores of the political parties in the council.

According to Afolabi, 15 polling units were cancelled due to violence during the governorship election on Saturday.

But, the PDP agent cautioned against further action.

Copy of the results must be submitted.

Oyejide stated that there were 33,750 voters in Sagamu, Ijebu-Ode, Ikenne, Ijebu-North, and Ogun Waterside and requested that the commission investigate.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *